Amateur Food Review: Fast Food Coffee

I have a weak spot for coffee. I’m not physically dependent on it like some people but lately it has been my go-to beverage whenever I’m loaded with work from the office. Real-talk though, it’s one of those unnecessary things you don’t need to buy if you can’t afford it but sadly it has become a habit I don’t have a plan on quitting.

As such, I resorted to buying fast food coffee or basically coffee that doesn’t come in Starbucks (or anything along those lines) form. Since I work around Makati, it isn’t hard for me to get access to fast food chains that serve coffee. For this reason, I decided to try all the fast food coffee I can get my hands on and get going with some kind of personal food review that I decided to share with all of you (note: I’m not a coffee enthusiast so feel free to discredit my opinion if necessary)

1. McDo McCafe Iced Mocha

(I forgot to mention that I have a knack for iced coffee. I have the tendency to favor cold drinks over hot ones so majority of the review is based on iced coffee.)

McDo’s coffee is a leading contender for all the fast food coffees. If you’re someone who’s updated with the latest millennial coffee craze, you’ve heard by now that McDo is stepping up their game by launching a standalone coffee place in BGC. I personally think McDo is trying to present an alternative to your typical Starbucks at a more affordable price – and I think they’re doing a good job at it.

img-thing

For the affordable price of 100 pesos for a large cup, you’re served with a rich iced mocha coffee with whipped cream and chocolate syrup on top. Not to mention that this drink has this smooth texture to it that you’ll learn to love (once you get over the fact that it’s not Starbucks)

Rating: 8.5/10


2. Burger King’s BK Joe Mocha Frost

bwabyiocmaa-pps

 

Another personal favorite is Burger King’s own version of a coffee float – iced coffee topped with vanilla sundae and chocolate syrup. It has a smooth and creamy taste that will surely appeal to those who have a tooth for mocha and coffee. Although the taste of coffee isn’t as strong, it will surely solve your coffee cravings. I call this, the queen of all coffee floats.

Rating: 8/10


3. McDo’s Coffee Float

e1e4df165f50fbb3ae96241596868574

If you can’t afford McDo’s iced mocha, you can still get the cheaper option which is McDo’s coffee float. This is literally their hot coffee with vanilla sundae and chocolate syrup. Depending on how the staff brewed the coffee, it can either taste way too watery or just right. I don’t advise getting this if you’re into strong flavored coffee. If you’re into a quick coffee run and you don’t really have any choice, you can get this for instant coffee gratification. Pro tip: Don’t forget to mix the vanilla sundae with the coffee before drinking.

Rating: 6/10


4. Jollibee’s Coffee Float

7281610868_eb82892f9c_b.jpg

Jollibee tried. They really did. They gave McDo’s coffee float a steady competition, but the coffee just doesn’t cut it. I find the coffee flavor mediocre and it was more creamy than coffee. I also found it to be too sweet, considering the I have an affinity for sweet things. So that’s saying something right? Maybe they should try increasing the coffee flavor a bit? Idk.

Rating: 4/10


5. 7-11’s City Blends Iced Coffee

citmbitugaacjzy-1

I bet you didn’t see that one coming. Last but not the least, 7-11’s City Blends Iced Coffee. It’s not topped by whipped cream or sundae ice cream but 7-11 was not messing around when they said their coffee is made from 100% pure Arabica Beans. I’m a fan of their hot mocha coffee but when they introduced their iced coffee, it wasn’t so bad either. Hot or cold, their coffee is a great fix to your stress-induced day. I 100% recommend it if you are craving for a coffee out of nowhere.

Rating: 8/10 (for iced), 10/10 (for hot)

So there you have it, an amateur review of fast food coffees as told by someone who clearly can’t afford Starbucks on a daily basis. Hopefully, this serves as a guide for you and a help to your dying wallet. Oh, and to clear things up, all coffee prices are below Php 100.00 so it’s definitely within the average coffee budget! Of course if any of the above still doesn’t cut it, I wouldn’t hesitate recommending Great Taste White 3-in-1 coffee. Haha! Always my go-to instant coffee drink!


I hope this helps! Stay tuned for more amateur reviews 🙂

 

Cheers,
Via

Leave a Reply

