My Skincare Story

I finally had the courage to do it! I’ve been wanting to post about my skincare routine for the longest time but I never had the guts to do it since I think it would be too irrelevant. But lo and behold, I got around to setting aside that anxious feeling and just get to typing – and so here I am.

My friend introduced me to the Korean Skincare Routine about 4 months ago. This spawned from the fact that I kept ranting about my acne and how much of a hassle (and skin-stressing) it is to go to my derma and receive treatments that involves pricking and injecting (which I read was bad for your skin, and pricking only makes your pores worst). I’ve been going to the same clinic since high school and they were able to prescribe topical products which helped me control my hormonal acne, albeit, temporarily. My acne would fade in and out without notice and they’re the kind of acne that stays on forever. They would also leave dark scars around my face which takes months and months to remove. So I thought, maybe I should try this new thing everyone is raving about. I felt like there was nothing to lose on my part and besides, everyone was really citing positive results.

Of course, I didn’t dive in right away out of sheer curiosity. I got around to researching reddit posts, watching youtube videos, and googling products before buying them. I gathered reviews, compared results, and figured out what was compatible with my skin type. It helped that I was really cautious about what I put on my face and body so I was really meticulous about the whole process of researching before buying products (and I recommend that you do it too).

At last, I got around to choosing 9 products which I think would help me with my skin concerns which includes 1) Post Inflammatory Hyperpigmentation (PIH) and 2) preventing acne (note that I did not buy these products all at once and right away – I saved for these of course. Buying these products is no joke.) I’m listing them all here on my post along with a revised version of how I do the routine. I read that it takes at least 1-3 months for a product to manifest its effects into your skin so I will refrain from giving my comments until then 😉

Step 1: 1st cleanse
Celeteque Anti-Aging Oil Cleanser

Step 2: 2nd cleanse
Papulex Soap Free Gel Cleanser

Step 3: Exfoliate
Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

Step 4: Actives
Klairs Freshly Juiced Vitamin Drop
The Ordinary Niacinamide 10% + Zinc 1%
The Ordinary Magnesium Ascorbyl Phospate
CosRX AHA 7 Whitehead Power Liquid
CosRX BHA Blackhead Power Liquid

Step 5: Hydration
Celeteque Hydrating Toner

Step 6: Mask
Klairs Moisturizing Sheet Mask

Step 7: Sunblock
Biore Perfect Face Milk SPF 50+

* – maroon font means they have been incorporated into my routine since time immemorial

All of these products has something to do with PIH, acne-control, and brightening the skin. I also incorporated exfoliating and moisturizing products like the clay and sheet masks to pamper my skin and give them that “extra push” to stay healthy.

It is important to note that when applying products, you have to be aware of what your skin is sensitive to. You might buy products that may trigger your allergies or burn your sensitive skin. In that case, you should stop and do a patch test first.

I really have a lot to say but I’m running out of time. I’ll elaborate and specify on other things on my next posts, so stay tuned for that. Meanwhile, I will provide links below which can help you with your Korean Skincare routine. These links helped me in terms of research and being more knowledgeable about what I do 🙂

So there you have it! (for now). I promise to be more detailed on my next posts, when we tackle just how effective these products are 😀

 

See you on my next post!
Via ☼

Leave a Reply

